Post 138 is on the "Old Tampa Bay" at the end of West Prescott Street. The town of Port Tampa City was established in 1885 at the end of Henry B. Plant's railroad line, and was the primary port of embarkation for the Spanish-American War in Cuba. Post 138’s current location was the site of Tampa's first pier constructed in the 1890's which was used by the local residents to swim, fish, picnic, and sail. In 1911, Port Tampa opened a public bathhouse on the pier and in 1923 Prescott Street was paved. The membership of Post 138 purchased the building on 5535 W. Prescott Street as well as some associated land from the Rail Road Company in the mid-to-late 1950's. The building housing our Post has experienced dramatic changes over the years, but the most major was that our American Legion Post 138 was a two-story building until 1960 when Hurricane Donna removed the upper level. Post 138’s large back deck offers beautiful sunset views. A boat launch is available for the boating and fishing enthusiasts and a large picnic pavilion area is located on the property which hosts several community, Post, and American Legion events. In close proximity to MacDill Air Force Base, we attract many active duty, retirees, and veterans to our Post.
Hugh Gilbert Strickland.
Hugh Gilbert "Buddy" Strickland was the first Port Tampa casualty of World War II. He was a US Marine fighting in the Guadalcanal, South Pacific when in October of 1942 he and thousands of other soldiers lost their lives. It is in honor and respect for him that our Post bears his namesake. His family members have continued their membership with and visitation to our Post over the years and still to the present day.
WHAT MAKES OUR POST UNIQUE: